Reading Challenge: RIP V

September 21, 2010 at 4:38 pm (Challenge Post) (, , , )

It’s once again time for the Readers Imbibing Peril challenge over at Stainless Steel Droppings. Officially, it began on the first of the month, but better late than never, eh?  Since I’m ambitious, I’ll be participating in Peril the First again, which requires reading four books that fit a broad definition of scary. Unlike last year, however, I have no idea what I might read for this year’s challenge. (Anyone with a similar problem will find any number of suitable titles, either on my RIP IV list, or under horror and suspense categories here.

I guess I ought to go rummage about in my books to find something appropriate. I have a Norton Book of Ghost Stories I still haven’t read, and I have been long desirous of reading The Monk. I’ve also been considering revisiting Dracula, which I read once back in seventh grade, and never again.

Any ideas or recommendations?

RIP V Reading List

1. The Eyes of the Dragon by Stephen King
2. World War Z by Max Brooks
3.  Pet Sematary by Stephen King
4.

4 Comments

  1. Jenny said,

    I miss you when you are gone! *makes heart with fingers*

    I have lots of suggestions for my list, but they are all books I haven’t read yet, so I can’t necessarily recommend them. There are always those old RIP stand-bys Sarah Waters and Shirley Jackson, whom I love.

    • Schatzi said,

      Awww, thank you! I miss being around. Ugh, feel like such a FAILURE lately; I swear, other than the wedding and getting a new job, it’s been a crap year. Bah!

      I do like me some Shirley and some Sarah; perhaps I’ll look for a collection of the former for RIP V.

  2. blackwatertown said,

    I haven’t read any of the books you have recently reviewed. But I have read The Monk. Yes gloomy and gothic, with characters deficient in sense and perspective. But then, I suppose, people can be.
    I read The Monk many years ago after a housemate passed it on to me. He was a fan. He was also, it turned out, a bit of a doom-monger personally. He attempted to poison another house resident – partly motivated by jealousy, partly for the gothic thrill.
    The plot failed. He was as effective as characters inside the pages of The Monk.

    I would recommend A Time of Gifts by Patrick Leigh Fermor. In it Fermor recounts his walk, as an 18 year old in 1933, from Rotterdam towards Istanbul. He spends a lot of time in Germany as Hitler is rising up. (He later went on to be a spectacular war hero.) A Time of Gifts is packed with interest and erudition. If you’re like me, you might need a dictionary handy occasionally.
    http://www.blackwatertown.wordpress.com

  3. Kailana said,

    I think I might read Dracula. I was thinking about it today… Enjoy your books!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

