New Spring

June 2, 2009 at 5:36 pm (Fantasy) (, )

New Spring (in Legends)

New Spring (in Legends)

New Spring by Robert Jordan
Tor, 2nd mass-market printing, 2000
149 pages
Genre:
fantasy

Synopsis & Review: A prequel to The Eye of the World, New Spring finds Moiraine Damodred freshly raised to the shawl, and traveling the Borderlands in search of boys born on Dragonmount during the last battle of the Aiel War. If she finds him, she will have found the Dragon reborn, prosephied savior and destroyer of the world. But other Aes Sedai are also in the Borderlands, and some of them may be Black Ajah, and trying to find–and kill–the Dragon Reborn in his infancy. There she meets with a al’Lan Mandragoran, a diademed battle lord and King of the lost land of Malkier. As politics swirl about them both, the two must decide how best to fight the Shadow and preserve the world. click here for more on New Spring

Permalink Leave a Comment

Tuesday: What are You Reading?

June 2, 2009 at 5:03 pm (Memes)

on_mondaysSo I’m a day late!

Well, in the last week I read Conan the Swordsman, as well as two Howard Conan stories, which I included in my CtS entry, since they qualified as research for it. I also finally finished The Secret History (again), which had been languishing on my nightstand. And I picked up and re-read New Spring by Robert Jordan, another quickie.

It’s been a bit of a slow week, which happens at the end of a school term; I sometimes cannot read as much as I would like, or stick with something easy and comforting. Rather than work on Waverley or Thérèse Raquin, I started re-reading The Mirror of Her Dreams by Stephen R. Donaldson.

We’ll see how I do this week as I finish my transcript and papers.

Permalink Leave a Comment