BTT: Celebrities?

July 3, 2009 at 2:35 am (Memes) ()

btt2 Suggested by Callista83:

Do you read celebrity memoirs? Which ones have you read or do you want to read? Which nonexistent celebrity memoirs would you like to see?

I don’t really. I tried to think of which celebrity memoirs I’d read, and the only one I can think of is The Kid Stays in the Picture by Robert Evans. I read it after seeing the movie, and Robert Evans in an odd way became a sort of hero to me. I also once read DeeDee Ramone’s Poison Heart: Surviving the Ramones, as any punk should (how sententious do I sound?), an dI must admit, it gave me a lot of insight into the band, and punk in general, which is I suppose all one could ask for in a celebrity memoir.

That’s it. I read a few celebrity biographies when I was a child (Marilyn Monroe, Shirley Temple, Isadora Duncan), but that’s it for memoirs. They usually don’t appeal to me for some reason, perhaps due to my preference for ancient history. I really cannot think of many celebrity memoirs I would want to read, but perhaps for Elvis Presley’s. That would be something. I might read Priscilla’s memoir Elvis and Me.

I don’t know why Robert Evans’ story struck a chord with me, but it did, even unto making me a huge fan of Kid Notorious. The things we do for love.

2 Comments

  1. Mish said,

    The few biographies I read I enjoyed because they were more than just a life story, they were insightful and had substance. You had might like Love, Ellen by Betty DeGeneres since it’s about love between parents and their children and acceptance.

  2. LDP said,

    I’ve wanted to read Bruca Campbell’s If Chins Could Kill: Confessions of a B Movie Actor for years now, but have still never gotten around to it. I really can’t think of any other that I’m interested in.

Leave a Reply

