It’s Monday! What’re you reading? (6 July 2009)

July 6, 2009 at 3:06 pm (Memes)

on_mondays Well, I’m certainly not reading what I want to be reading! This past week, I conceived of a desire to re-read David Brin’s The Postman, a post-apocalyptic novel I’ve been fond of since I was eleven, and which is notable for an extremely bad movie adaptation. I tore through my paperback shelves looking for it, but it wasn’t in the Speculative Fiction section, nor was it in Classics. I checked and double-checked, to no avail. I even looked through my Historical Fiction, Romance, (small) Mystery, Pop Lit, and YA shelves, but it was nowhere to be found. I am devastated. I suppose I’ll have to find a copy somewhere …

Amid all the raving about missing books, I managed to read Cornell Woolrich’s Black Alibi, a new and very welcome addition to my Woolrich shelf. That’s the only review I posted this week, but never fear! There are some in the works!

I finally retrieved A Factory of Cunning from Maiya’s house, and have been making good time through it whenever I have a few minutes to myself. Also, this past week marks the start of the Summer Reading Project at The Valve, and I am right on time making my way through Charlotte Brontë’s Villette. My only worry is that I won’t be able to restrain myself to their timeline, as once I’ve got a chapter in, the pace just merrily carries me along.

I expect I shall have a review for A Factory of Cunning up over the next week, and probably something of the children’s literature persuasion as well, since I feel the urge rising within me. It may also be time for a re-read of Pamela Dean’s Tam Lin, thanks to some conversation with Jenny of Jenny’s Books. Then I might pick A Conspiracy of Paper back up, depending on how A Factory of Cunning finishes.

5 Comments

  1. Mary said,

    Enjoy your reading this week!

  2. Jaime Huff said,

    I enjoyed Villette.

    My Monday list is here

  3. Jenny said,

    A Conspiracy of Paper is a goooorgeous title – I hope the book is as good as the title!

  4. J. Kaye said,

    I never save books. Once I read them, they are gone from the house within the next couple of weeks to a month. Research/reference books are about the only ones I hang on to and those are few.

    I am getting ready for RV living. It’s a few years down the rode, but I am getting my mind prepared now. 😉

  5. LDP said,

    I’ll take credit for your desire to reread The Postman, but I’ll take no blame for it’s disappearance, even though you said I should read it.

    I’m reading Joe Hill’s Heart-Shaped Box and rereading Tom Piccirilli’s Pentacle and I’m hoping to start on either the next book in Greg Keyes’ Kingdom of Thorn and Bone series or Brian Keene’s Dark Hollow as soon as I finish Pentacle, but that depends on whether I make it to the book store or not and what they have. I’m going to try and go today.

Leave a Reply

