It’s Monday! What are you reading? (13 July)

July 14, 2009 at 2:53 pm (Memes)

on_mondaysIt was a quiet week. I went on a Noel Streatfeild rampage, tearing through both Circus Shoes and Movie Shoes, then got bogged down in the Gemma books. To get the bad taste out of my mouth from those, I read a little Louisa May Alcott–the end of Rose in Bloom, actually–and picked up one of my all-time favorite fantasy novels, To Rouse a Sleeping Cat. Since I’ll for once have to explain both the novel and my liking of it, I am trying to read a little more slowly than usual, so that I don’t miss anything. Villette continues apace, but I did not read any more of A Conspiracy of Paper. I also started “A Witch Shall be Born” by Robert E. Howard on Gutenberg Australia.I also spent a great deal of time poring through LibraryThing, Amazon, the Multnomah County Library, and WorldCat in search of some favorite books from my childhoods, with the catch that I couldn’t remember titles, authors, or more than a little about the plot. I met with some success, tracking down Patricia Beatty at long last.

The only reviews I posted this week were for Circus and Movie; the Gemma books had me too annoyed to post, but I shall force myself to do so, probably today.

Expectations for the week ahead include more Villette, more Dan Crawford, and possibly a trip to the library for some unread fiction lite! I’m also waiting with bated breath for a childhood favorite to arrive in the post; after years of searching, I tracked the sucker down via WorldCat! There will be more on this later.

1 Comment

  1. J. Kaye said,

    If I have visited earlier, I would have complained I am so behind in my review. Today I caught up. Yah! It looks like you are all over the place with your reading. I love when I am like that. So I gotta ask. What is nonfiction lite? Is it like the new biography about Micheal Jackson?

Leave a Reply

