Booking Through Thursday: TBR

July 16, 2009 at 12:41 am (Memes)

btt2Follow-up to last week’s question:

Do you keep all your unread books together, like books in a waiting room? Or are they scattered throughout your shelves, mingling like party-goers waiting for the host to come along?

Absolutely not, my unreads are scattered about willy-nilly. Some I shelve with the rest of my books, in alphabetical order for fiction, and by subject for non-fiction. There’s a small pile on the shelf of my coffee table; they were lent to me by my older sister, so I keep them separate. Then there’s a few small stacks of Books I Really Ought to Read (see BTT: Unread) in various places, one near the door of the office, and one right behind me … staring … balefully … On my nightstand there’s a small stack of books that keeps growing; they’re usually books I pick up and either start, or intend to read while trying to fall asleep. I also keep one or two in my bookbags to haul to work or school. And then there’s the box of books delivered just the day before yesterday, from a friend in LA’s yard sale (yes, you too can shop yard sales long-distance!); though I unpacked them and oohed and aahed, I haven’t yet put them away. Perhaps I need another bookshelf … .

Basically, I booby-trap the apartment so that no matter where I am, I can find an unread book to start. Or I can avoid making eye contact with A Very Improving Book while I stealthily enjoy a trashy novel or some YA fiction!

In an ideal world, my books would all be in one place, but I don’t think I would ever separate the unreads from the reads; I do so much re-reading, and select books according to how I feel at a given moment, and I would rathe rhave all my options there in front of me, mingled together. But the too-small apartments I’ve been living in for too long now don’t permit it. Some day!

7 Comments

  1. anthonynorth said,

    Books seem to spread magically throughout my house, too 🙂

    Scatter Books

  2. BooksPlease said,

    I can find an unread book in most rooms of the house – and in the car too.

  3. Shari said,

    I’m getting images of what your house looks like! Sounds wonderful to me!

  4. gautami tripathy said,

    I too can find unread books just with one glance. Feels great, eh?!

    TBR: mixed reactions?

  5. Dot said,

    Thanks for visiting my blog! I think I have books in every room of my house too! It’s the best way to be!

  6. Lady Lazarus said,

    Wow, I’m the exact opposite. 😛 I know that if I keep my unread and read books together, I’ll never get round to reading my unread ones.

  7. Nymeth said,

    Yeah, mine are scattered too. It would make me a bit too anxious to see them all together 😛

Leave a Reply

