It’s Monday! What are You Reading? (27 July)

July 27, 2009 at 5:38 pm (Memes) ()

on_mondaysThanks to a brief illness last week, and some lingering fatigue combined with terribly hot weather, I was very lazy and didn’t participate last week. I’m sure you’ll forgive me!

Last week saw the continuation and culmination of my short chick-lit/Emily Giffin marathon, as I finished Baby Proof and Love the One You’re With. It was a little much, as I mentioned in my Something Borrowed review. In the middle of the marathon, I indulged myself with a long-lost romance that captivated me in elementary school, The Loving Highwayman. I got all four of my Giffin entries up, including two that bled over from the previous week, and then published nary a one till last night–though the book stack just kept rising.

Once through the fluffy halls of chick-lit, I refreshed myself with a recovered children’s book of the Wild West, Patricia Beatty’s Melinda Takes a Hand. I also traveled back to Byzantium with The Bearkeeper’s Daughter, one of the box sent from California. And yesterday at work, I plowed through Karleen Koen’s Dark Angels, a prequel to her magnificent Through a Glass Darkly.

Last night I finally forced myself to add an entry on Rouse a Sleeping Cat. It’s one of my all-time favorite fantasies, so I wanted to do it justice. I don’t think I did. I also added an entry for that youthful favorite The Loving Highwayman, and today added Melinda Takes a Hand. I hope to be all caught up by tomorrow with entries for The Bearkeeper’s Daughter and Dark Angels.

This week, I expect to finish Within the Hollow Crown by Margaret Campbell Barnes and The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde, both of which I started last ngiht before bed. I also need to catch up on Villette! And after reading the highly enjoyable … In the Attic and The Chick Manifesto, I feel a yen for some VC Andrews. Dare I add another challenge?

3 Comments

  1. J. Kaye said,

    I am so sorry you haven’t been feeling well. Are you signed up with the VC Andrews challenge? I remember seeing it posted on blogs.

  2. Mary said,

    I hope you feel better and enjoy your reading this week.

  3. Schatzi said,

    Thanks for the well wishes! 🙂

    J. Kaye: I’m not yet signed up for that one, but since discovering those two blogs, I am seriously considering it. There are a few early ones I missed, enough to make it worthwhile, and not too much like I’m inflating my book count. And they really are a load of fun!

Leave a Reply

