Booking Through Thursday: Recent Serious

August 6, 2009 at 12:30 am (Memes)

btt2What’s the most serious book you’ve read recently?
(I figure it’s easier than asking your most serious book ever, because, well, it’s recent!)

Well, what is serious? Looking over my list of the last fifty-one books read, I see not much in the way of Very Serious High Art Literature-Type Books. I like the funny.Are we looking just at stories that don’t end well, books without a Happily Ever After? Or novels with Serious Themes that Make Us Think? I don’t know.

I do enjoy a lot of books that are fairly mindless; I don’t watch much TV, and I guess we all desire mental junk food.I’ve only got a couple of Classics listed at the moment: Jane Eyre, some Colette, and White Fang. Colette’s always witty and amusing, though. Do the others count? They were pretty far back.

All the Cornell Woolrich books I’ve read are very serious: they’re dark novels of love and despair. And I highly recommend all of them.

I don’t count any romance (thanks to the HEA), so I have to consider that when looking at the historical fiction. In which case The Bearkeeper’s Daughter is probably the most recent completed serious book. O the Red Rose Tree, which I read last night, but haven’t yet posted, had some serious undertones, but was also more amusing than not.

Of the books I’m currently reading, Villette, Everything is Illuminated,  and When Christ and His Saints Slept are all serious in that they all require more of my attention and concentration than many books, and they touch on fairly serious or even dark subject matter.

12 Comments

  1. iwriteinbooks said,

    Oh see I think Everything Is Illuminated is both hillarious and serious in its own way.

    • Schatzi said,

      I would never say that it wasn’t both (though I’m only a few chapters in, but I felt that way about the movie, which inspired me to read the book), but it does meet both the qualifiers in that final statement.

  2. anthonynorth said,

    You don’t hear Cornell Woolrich mentioned much nowadays. He was an exceptional crime writer.

    You’ll find mine here.

    • Schatzi said,

      He is one of my all-time favorites, definitely in my top ten. Sadly, he was under the popular radar for a long time, but it seems like he may be having a renascence; at least, a number of his books are back in print. And that’s fantastic.

  3. gautami tripathy said,

    And I find that most of reading borders on serious!

    Seriously booking through it!

  4. Violet said,

    I would put serious under “makes us think” category but then even romance could make you think. So really as everyone else is saying, it’s subjective.

  5. Janet said,

    I’m not familiar with these titles. I like your reflection on the concept of “serious.”

  6. Yvonne said,

    From reading through the blogs, I think “serious” reads have a different meaning for everyone. To me, it’s about the topic regardless if it’s fiction or non-fiction.

  7. mervih said,

    I thought Jane Eyre is “Very Serious High Art Literature”.

    I like the definition of serious = books that make a person think. Because that means that practically *every* book is in this category.

  8. kaye said,

    some very serious titles. I’m booking thru Thursday here

  9. Susan B. Evans said,

    The Bearkeeper’s Daughter looks seriously good! Here’s my response.

  10. JLS Hall said,

    I’ve always thought of Jane Eyre as a serious read, even if melodramatic. I know the madwoman stashed away in the attic or tower or whatever, is a heavy-handed, but the story does touch on some pretty serious subjects and themes. Cornell Woolrich is new to me, but sounds like somebody I should get to know.

Leave a Reply

