It’s Monday! What are you reading? (10 August)

August 10, 2009 at 1:22 pm (Memes) ()

on_mondaysDespite reaching an important landmark last week with my fiftieth book of the blog–putting me halfway to one of my challenge goals at long last–I have very little to report this week.

I did finish–and promptly post–both To Dream of Snow and O the Red Rose Tree, as promised. And caught up on all my unposted books, putting me in the black. But I did not finish anything else! Since putting down Within a Hollow Crown and Everything is Illuminated, I haven’t picked them back up. I have been steadily making my way through When Christ and His Saints Slept, but am only on page 529 out of 746. That’s pitiful progress!

My only excuse is that I did start a class this week, and have been boning up on my German (it being a year since I used it at all). I’ve also been doing some wedding planning while at work (somewhere I usually get a lot of reading done), and reading the Julie/Julia Project from start to finish. (Both Eli and I would like to see the movie.) I also experienced a serious yen for some VC Andrews, but found nothing at Goodwill but a bedraggled copy of If There Be Thorns. Wtf, Goodwill? (I did, however, find the other two books in the Shadowrun: Secrets of Power trilogy, and picked those up, as well as lovely copies of The Return of Tarzan and Moonraker.)

This week, I promise to finish When Christ and His Saints Slept! I will also pick up those books I put down! And since today marked the arrival of two trashy books, I will make sure to thoroughly enjoy those as well!

4 Comments

  1. Teddyree said,

    Have a good reading week, I’ve got Julie and Julia (the book and movie) on my reading list sometime in the next couple of weeks. Congrats on reaching the 50 mark!

  2. Chrissy said,

    I’ve just finished reading Kathleen S. Wilson’s book, Rumer & Qix: The Race to Terra Incognita. It’s a YA eco-futuristic kinda book.
    One of the greatest things about this book, is for every book sold, a tree is planted so I had to buy one for each of us! My friend tells me its one of her favorite books and she talks about it so much her friends are wanting to read it too.

  3. J. Kaye said,

    Oh but that’s so good! 50 books!!! 🙂

  4. Mary said,

    So, When Christ and His… isn’t a page-turner?
    Have a good week!

Leave a Reply

