Booking Through Thursday: Worst Recent

August 14, 2009 at 2:24 pm (Memes) ()

btt2What’s the worst book you’ve read recently?
(I figure it’s easier than asking your all-time worst, because, well, it’s recent!)

Oh, that’s an easy one: To Dream of Snow by Rosalind Laker. She’s an author I have enjoyed many times in the past (I read tons of her back in the mid-Nineties, in high school), but I thought this novel was dreck. It’s unfortunate, because it made me feel simultaneously betrayed and pitying. It was formulaic and dull, and chock full of poor editing. Poor La Laker.

“But Schatz!” you might say. “What about Mademoiselle Boleyn?” While it’s true that I had some harsh things to say about Mademoiselle Boleyn by Robin Maxwell, there was a lot of good in it, too, and most importantly, it was a passionate book, one written by an author who felt she had something to say, something to show readers–and that shows in the book despite its flaws. Whereas To Dream of Snow felt phoned in. No one enjoys feeling patronized.

2 Comments

  1. alitareads said,

    When you’ve liked previous books by an author, I think that makes a downer seem even worse. It’s easy to accept a poor book by someone new to you, but someone you had deemed trustworthy? You’re right, you feel a little betrayed.

    By the way, I like your YTD Reading Facts…mind if I borrow the idea?

    • Schatzi said,

      Yeah, I completely agree!

      And of course you may. I’m not even sure whether I made it up or based it on someone else’s, heh.

Leave a Reply

