Booking Through Thursday: Recent Best

August 20, 2009 at 12:16 am (Memes) (, )

btt2What’s the best book you’ve read recently?

(Tell me you didn’t see this one coming?)

(I totally did.)

Looking back over my recent books, I notice there’s been a sharp increase in children’s and YA books, juvenalia of all sorts. Like a lot of people, I find them soothing when stressed–though I also feel slightly embarrassed, like I should be reading some ponderous “adult” tome. But then, I’ve always felt that way, even when I was a wee tot.

Without playing favorites, I must say two of the best recent books are Little Women and Little House in the Big Woods, both of which are excellent examples of children’s literature–and worth reading by adults. I feel both are essential entries in the canon of English language children’s literature. For an adult book, I’d probably have to go all the way back to The Bearkeeper’s Daughter for something I’d call “best.”

It’s hard to decide something like that, though; I often think of my books as superlative, like you have in high school:

Best Trashy Ballerina Novel!
Best Novel about the Anarchy!
Best Scary Vulture Spirit Novel!
Best Mindbogglingly Bad Prose!
Best Book About Quilting in the Pacific Northwest!

(If you were wondering, I was voted “Most Likely to Have a TV Movie Based on Their Life.”)

Maybe I need to read some better books, though. I seem to dislike a lot of the non-juvenalia I’ve been reading.

16 Comments

  1. Pam said,

    I found that this left me with a weird taste in my mouth, too. As you said, I really need to read better books. I’ve picked a few good ones, but maybe because I’m analyzing them flat out for the blog, I’m not truly loving most of the books I read, I don’t know. I did find that one of the four that made my list for today, was a YA. I haven’t read Little House (etc.) in a LONG time but I know I loved them when I read them. Oh and I love your list. I think I’m going to start reviewing books like that…Best Bizarre Take on Chick Lit or Best Subplot That Takes Over the Show Despite a Terrible Main Course…:O)

    • Schatzi said,

      Haha, glad you liked it!

      I also wonder whether writing these book reports/blog entries is making me more analytical, or making me consider the quality of my books more carefully.

  2. Novroz said,

    I haven’t read any of your book yet, I managed to choose just 1 book tho

  3. gautami tripathy said,

    I read Little Women long time back. I loved it.

    Booking through recent best

  4. JLS Hall (Joy's Blog) said,

    I read Little Women for the first time when I was maybe eight or nine, and loved it. And it’s still one of my favorite books – I don’t really think of it as a “children’s book” at all.

  5. JoAnn said,

    My daughter just finished Little Women. I think I need to read some YA soon!

  6. Yvonne said,

    I was never into the YA books at all until I started blogging. It’s like discovering a whole new world 🙂

  7. Amy Reads Good Books said,

    Nice picks! I love Little Women and often re-read it over Christmas break.

  8. Susan B. Evans said,

    There’s nothing wrong with reading YA or children’s literature – there are some excellent books out there regardless of age level. Check out this blog as an example:

    http://thebooksmugglers.com/

    As far as my best recent read goes, I had a hard time picking just one, so I did a top five 🙂 Here’s my BTT.

  9. Crystal said,

    I don’t worry about what I’m reading – I just enjoy reading. I love YA books – there are some really great ones out there and I read them and children’s books to get a feel for what is out there for my kids. Okay I’m lying – I read them for me 🙂

    I haven’t read these in years but I remember I loved both of them – they are classics.

  10. La Coccinelle said,

    I loved Little Women when I read it!

  11. Robin of My Two Blessings said,

    I’m finding a lot of ya books very entertaining and well worth reading. Read both books years ago. My post is up now.

  12. Nise' said,

    Re-read Little Women a while ago and loved it just as much as always.

  13. cjz111 said,

    I have the entire Little House series of books and loooove them. Great choice!!

  14. Ophelia said,

    I’ve never stopped reading YA books. They are my all-time favorites! And I think the Little House books are great for any generation. 🙂

  15. Schatzi said,

    Thanks for the comments, everyone! I guess there’s a reason those two are considered classics, eh? 🙂

Leave a Reply

