It’s Tuesday! What are you reading? (1 September)

September 1, 2009 at 5:59 pm (Memes)

on_mondaysNot quite as late as last week, but not yet on time either! My only excuse is that I was too tired after work Sunday night to get this weekly What are You Reading post in order, and yesterday I was at the State Fair for about nine hours. And fairs are exhausting: so many animals to pet, deep-fried foods to eat, crafts to admire, rides to er, ride, and so on. Plus, I was trying to catch up on my book report posting Sunday night, having been industrious at work and written up a few.

This past week I at long last finished Within the Hollow Crown, a Margaret Campbell Barnes historical fiction I’d been plugging away at for a month. I also quickly re-read Born to Run by Mercedes Lackey and Larry Dixon, a trifling little urban fantasy I’d read back in high school. Both of those book reports were promptly posted Sunday night.

I have yet to post for Everything is Illuminated, but I finished it at long last late last night, devouring it on the ride down tot he Fair and back. On that ride I also finished The Witch of Blackbird Pond, a long-time favorite I picked up the night before on a whim. I will be sitting down today to hammer those reports out, as well as the much-anticipated (I made that up, but so what?) report on Farmer Boy.

This week, I expect to finish Norah Loft’s The Concubine, which I started last night. I also read the first four chapters of The Unbearable Lightness of Being, but I’m not sure what I can promise for that one in terms of progress. I’ve also got Brideshead Revisited waiting for me here, and two Louisa May Alcott romances, Christopher Fry’s The Lady’s Not for Burning (finally! Did I not say I would, Jenny?), and a non-fiction treat, Domestic Life in England.

You may have noticed, too, that I joined another reading challenge–I know what you’re going to say: “But Schatzi, you haven completed any of your reading challenges yet! Do you really need another?” But I swear, this is one I could do with my eyes closed! I’ve joined Readers Imbibing Peril IV (RIP), an autumnal annual challenge dedicated to the eerie on our reading lists. Now do you understand how I could not resist? Now I just have to decide what to read …

Speaking of challenges and seasonal ghosts and all that is uncanny and weird, are there any Christmas or winter holiday challenges associated with the macabre? That is another time for ghosts, and it seems like it would be a fun distraction from other seasonal perils (shopping, family, over-indulgence). Plus, I have the immensely enjoyable Chillers for Christmas, and I do love any opportunity to re-read that! Hmmm.

2 Comments

  1. Jenny said,

    Put Her Fearful Symmetry on the list! I just finished it all in one go and am trying to figure out how to describe how I feel about it.

  2. J. Kaye said,

    Will wordpress let you predate your posts? That’s what I do when I know I have a busy schedule ahead.

Leave a Reply

