Booking Through Thursday: Recent Big

September 4, 2009 at 4:32 am (Memes) ()

btt2What’s the biggest book you’ve read recently?

(Feel free to think “big” as size, or as popularity, or in any other way you care to interpret.)

Sizewise, the biggest book I’ve read recently is definitely Little Women. That sucker clocks in at 595 pages in my twenty-year old Dell Yearling Classics edition, a respectable number for any book, children’s or adult. However, it’s also the heavy looking at popularity figures, with over eight thousand copies on LibraryThing, dwarfing by far the next closest contender, Everything is Illuminated (in the four thousand range).

I was a little surprised at how poorly the two Little House books that I’ve recently read did for numbers on LibraryThing, but I suspect that they perform consistently well on Amazon and at other retailers–though how long that will be the case is open to question considering the continued dilution and degradation of Laura Ingalls Wilder’s work.

Just over two weeks ago, When Christ and His Saints Slept came in at 746 pages–which might actually be my record since beginning this blog endeavor–but that is just out of range of what I’ll consider recent. Plus, for sheer worldwide numbers, I am confident that Little Women has it beat, as much as I enjoy Penman.

Edit: I checked, and yes, When Christ and His Saints Slept seems to be beating every other volume out so far, barely edging out Mordant’s Need as long as we consider them two separate volumes.

3 Comments

  1. gautami tripathy said,

    I used to prefer books around 600 pages. Now I stick around 400 + Pages.

    Booking through Big

    • Schatzi said,

      I do love a big, meaty tome, but I just haven’t been reading many lately.

  2. alitareads said,

    My mom tried to convince me to read Little Women when I was younger, but I think I gave up well before the end, and I’m sure the length had something to do with that. I should try reading it again.

    Come check out the award I have for you 🙂
    http://alitareads.wordpress.com/2009/09/04/award-time/

Leave a Reply

