Zombie Chickens? OH SHI-!

September 4, 2009 at 3:49 pm (Memes) ()

Wait, calm down! Hold onto your horses there, no need to run! It’s just some Zombie Chicken Awards, which I acquired a pair of from the lovely Jenny of Jenny’s Books and Alita of Alita Reads.

exhibit A

zombiechicken_award zombiechicken_award

The blogger who receives this award believes in the Tao of the zombie chicken– excellence, grace, and persistence in all situations, even in the midst of a zombie apocalypse. These amazing bloggers regularly produce content so remarkable that their readers would brave a raving pack of zombie chickens just to be able to read their inspiring words. As a recipient of this world-renowned award, you now have the task of passing it on to at least 5 other worthy bloggers. Do not risk the wrath of the zombie chickens by choosing unwisely or not choosing at all.

I am so very flattered that I hardly know what to say! But thank you, to both ladies, of course. (I do have a modicum of manners.)

Now, to pass it along …

Pop Sensation
A howlingly funny examination of vintage paperback covers, a subject near and dear to my heart. And not only is there great material, but thrice weekly posts! Gotta love regular updates when combined with stunning pulp covers.

Murder Can Be Fun Library
Of all the people I’ve never met, Johnny Marr of Murder Can Be Fun has been the biggest influence on my reading habits. I was hooked when I first picked up issue #16: Death at Disneyland (which I insisted upon reading aloud to my long-suffering mother) my freshman year of high school. I promptly began ordering back issues and supplementals–and I’ve still got them all, even the 1995 Datebook! Without Mister Marr, I never would have read Cornell Woolrich, Jim Thompson, Harry Stephen Keeler, or even Robert Cormier. Well, I might have gone on to read Cormier, to be fair. I should probably just devote an entire entry to MCBF’s influence on my reading, and stop gushing for now. I’m SO embarrassed!

… in the Attic: A VC Andrews Blog
In which Megan recaps  our favorite trashy novels chapter-by-chapter. After all, what thirteen-year-old girl didn’t read VC Andrews? I did, and I loved them–and still do! Megan recaps them with an amusing brand of humor that includes many pop culture and Swamp Thing references, and I for one, cannot wait for her updates.

Blog of Ice and Fire
It’s another recap blog, but this time a first time reader enjoying George RR Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire. As a long-time devotee of the series, I enjoy the fresh perspective on events in the books, but I also enjoy the absurdist responses. Good times for fantasy fans.

The Dairi Burger
This is my source for all things YA. Though the focus has been primarily on SVH (which I read far less of than the other favorite, BSC), there are a lot of excellent–and terrible–YA books reviewed. Plus, there’s the Lost & Found page, in which readers can help each other figure out what book they read, often from tiny, inconsequential details. And it’s really frickin’ funny.

Well, it’s probably declasse to do passbacks, so I guess I’ll just stop there. But, excellent blogs, all of them, and all worth checking out!

Leave a Reply

