It’s Monday! What are you reading? (14 September)

September 14, 2009 at 1:44 am (Memes) ()

on_mondaysAfter all the work I did to get caught up on my reviews from last week, I slacked off like crazy this week. I posted no book reports at all until tonight, when I just had to get Hunger of the Beast out there! I’m just awful.

The problem is, I got stuck writing up Once is Not Enough by Jackie Susann, the first book I finished this week. There’s a lot I want to say about the book and her, and it’s hard; i want to do them both justice, so I wimp out on my entries. That’s when I have to shake myself and shout, “Schatzi! It’s not a term paper! Twelve hundred words is too many! You’re not being graded!” I’ve got issues.

My ambition is to have both Once is Not Enough and Elizabeth Chadwick’s The Marsh King’s Daughter done tomorrow; I read the latter Saturday when I was home sick, and thoroughly enjoyed it.

I also have some fresh books from the library, plus The Unbearable Lightness of Being, to take care of, but I also picked up The Historian last night, and plowed through the first hundred pages in nothing flat. I think I found something for my RIP IV challenge! I am seriously enjoying this book.

Speaking of which, I need to go check out the Multnomah County Library site; I think those swine are deleting some of my requests! I put a hold on my ghost story books before I ever requested The Historian, and they’re still nowhere in site. Bugger all. Well, I better go check that out. The weather has been awfully autumnal, and I need to curl up with some spooky books.

9 Comments

  1. Teddyree said,

    Looking forward to those reviews you mentionl. Loved reading about your review issues, I have a few of my own lately LOL. Good luck getting caught up again and happy reading too 🙂

    Here’s my Monday post

  2. gautami tripathy said,

    You had a great week. Look forward to your thoughts.

    Musing/Mailbox Mondays

  3. K said,

    Reviews are so hard to catch up on…Hope you get yours done.
    Have a great week.

  4. Jennifer said,

    I have been wanting to read the HIstorian. It keeps calling out to me. Happy reading! My list is here: http://rundpinne.blogspot.com/2009/09/what-are-you-reading-monday_14.html

  5. Maree said,

    I couldn’t get into The Historian, but maybe I need to revisit.
    Happy reading! 🙂

  6. Kristen said,

    Isn’t it the best when you pick something up and just sink right into it?!

  7. alitareads said,

    I’m also currently reading The Historian, but I found it was too sunny this weekend to do much creepy vampire reading. Glad you’re enjoying it!

  8. Allison said,

    Sometimes we all have a slack week! No worries. 🙂 I am sure this upcoming week will be a great one for you.

  9. J. Kaye Oldner said,

    Once is Not Enough…that’s not the same book that was published in the 70’s is it?

Leave a Reply

