Booking Through Thursday: Recent Enjoyable

September 16, 2009 at 11:46 pm (Memes)

btt2What’s the most enjoyable, most fun, most just-darn-entertaining book you’ve read recently?

(Mind you, this doesn’t necessarily mean funny, since we covered that already. Just … GOOD.)

I tend to enjoy most of the books I read; books I don’t enjoy really stick out for me (I tend to the vitriolic when describing them, whoops) in a sea of otherwise pleasant reading. Isolating just a few enjoyable books is actually kind of difficult. But a couple I’ve particularly enjoyed recently would include:

The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova, which I just finished last night for RIP IV,
Norah Lofts’ The Concubine, some really nice old-school historical fiction,
Once is Not Enough
by Jackie Susann, and author I always enjoy with the guiltiest of pleasures,
the beautiful but sometimes difficult Everything is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer,
and The Marsh King’s Daughter, historical fiction by an author who is new to me, Elizabeth Chadwick.

Actually, in an odd way I’ve enjoyed the aftermath of reading Total Crap like Hunger of the Beast–I’ve gotten some good jokes out of the experience, if nothing else.

11 Comments

  1. LDP said,

    Oooh! We need Mystery Science Library 3000. A group of people can read crappy books and scribble humorous side notes & footnotes as they read and then pass the book along to the next person, who would add their own notes and then pass the book along to someone else and on and on until it’s passed through the whole group..

  2. MissMeliss - Bibliotica said,

    I read The Historian years ago, and loved it – haven’t re-read it, and really should. It’s so deliciously dark and satisfyingly long.

  3. Jo said,

    I liked The Historian. If I’d read it recently I would have to have included it!

  4. Mae said,

    This Historian is awesome. It had a great mix of history, academia, vampires and myth in it. I remember plowing through that book in a night.

  5. Robin said,

    I read and own Loft’s The Concubine and I enjoyed it as well. I always like seeing different authors’ takes on Anne.

    I have the Marsh King’s Daughter with me right now from the library and I’m looking forward to reading it.

  6. gautami tripathy said,

    You picked out great books.

    Booking through Most Enjoyable

  7. Deanna/ibeeeg said,

    You have picked out some very intriguing books! Seriously, I have read your reviews and am hooked…I must read each one that you have listed.

  8. cjz111 said,

    I believe The Historian is next to be read on my list! I can’t wait.

  9. alitareads said,

    I’m still reading The Historian, and still enjoying it 🙂 Although, it’s not my pick this week for Most Enjoyable.

  10. ted said,

    I really loved the Historian too! Great curl up on a dark, cold night kind of book.

  11. Schatzi said,

    LDP – That sounds like a lot of fun, but we’d have such a hard time picking books.

    MissMeliss & ted – It really is. Perfect for that autumnal weather!

    Jo & Mae – I am really glad I finally got around to it!

    Robin – I love reading several books on the same subject so I can compare treatments. Too much academia, I suppose!

    Deanna – Haha, thank you! Hope you enjoy them as much as I did.

    cjz111 – I hope it lives up to the hype! Let me know how you like it.

    alita – I will have to just see what was more enjoyable this week for you!

Leave a Reply

