Booking through Thursday: Recent Sadness

September 24, 2009 at 2:05 am (Memes)

What’s the saddest book you’ve read recently?

(Is anybody getting bored with this series of “recent” questions? Because I’m having fun!)

My most recent reads–The Terror by Dan Simmons and Lady into Fox by David Garnett–are by far the saddest books I’ve read recently.

In the case of the former, foreknowledge about the expedition’s disappearance, the fact that no one would survive it, added a strong element of pathos to the reading experience. Their doom was a foregone conclusion, and knowing that heightened the emotional experience of reading the book–which also added bitterness to the suspense. The desperate will to live of the characters trapped in the Arctic was thrown into sharp relief by the obtuseness that went into planning and directing the expedition, which added another gut-wrenching element of tragedy.

The latter was an altogether different kind of sadness, a very sweet, touching sort of sadness. The tale of the two lovers separated by the changed nature of one was very poignant and moving. Mr Tebrick’s obvious passion for his wife Silvia, and his difficulties adjusting to the changes in their marriage were affecting, his despair heartrending. Silvia’s troubles and reactions, too, were moving. The whole story was just heartbreaking and inspiring.

Honestly, I am more than tired of the recent Recent gimmick for BTT. Being that I have a fairly strict interpretation of “recent” and don’t take it to mean “within the past year” or “int he last six months,” I find it frustrating that every week recently, I’ve had to basically write again about books I’ve just written about. I just wrote about them, I don’t want to re-write or condense what I just–sometimes only a day or two before–reviewed and discussed in detail! That’s not fun at all. One or two questions like that aren’t a problem, but every week? It’s tedious and uninteresting, and I would much rather be answering just about any other reading or book-related question. Perhaps the monotony irritates me more; I’m not sure.

In fact, I decline to participate in any more of the Recent questions. No more BTT for me till there’s something requiring a little more thought.

5 Comments

  1. Jo said,

    I know what you mean about recent, but I’m just interpreting it more loosely, otherwise it is just the same books again and again!

  2. gautami tripathy said,

    I have not read either book.

    And I agree. BTT is getting real boring. No substance at all.

    Booking through Sad Ones

  3. novelinsights said,

    I have exactly the same problem with ‘recent’. I had to think quite hard not to be repetitve!

  4. Jess said,

    Completely agree with you about the recent BTT topics. I haven’t been answering most of them because most blogs are already about what has been read recently, so it just seems to be really repetitive. Meh!

  5. Lisa (Books and Cooks) said,

    I haven’t read either of the books you mentioned but they do sound sad…but good! I have skipped a few BTT post recently as well due to the lack of thought the question posed. I’m glad I’m not the only one tiring of the theme.

Leave a Reply

