Dewey’s Read-a-Thon: Participating and Planning

October 19, 2009 at 11:25 pm (Read-a-Thon) ()

lg-new-readathonbutton-borderThis is perfect. I’ve been thinking of late about how much less time I’ve spent reading recently, and lo and behold, here comes Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon! So this Saturday, 24 October, I will be participating. One small catch: I will be working a standard eight hour shift at the lol-iday inn on Saturday. Though it is one of our busier days, I am going to go ahead and participate from work, hoping that no dire emergencies arise. I’ve already got the stacks my destination set up to receive posts via email so that I can update from work, though I will refrain from doing my full standard book reports till after the Read-a-Thon is over. (I don’t want to be writing when I could be reading!)

I’ve started getting a prospective pile in order. So far, it includes

The Ghost-Feeler: Stories of Terror and the Supernatural, Edith Wharton
Thérèse Raquin, Émile Zola
Brideshead Revisited, Evelyn Waugh
The Inheritance, Louisa May Alcott
The Mammoth Book of Modern Ghost Stories, ed. Peter Haining
The Turn of the Screw, Henry James
Dear Enemy, Jean Webster
Witch Week, Diana Wynne Jones
Little House on the Prairie, Laura Ingalls Wilder
Anne of Windy Poplars, LM Montgomery

I’ve also requested Meet the Austins and The Young Unicorns from the Multnomah County Library, two L’Engles I’ve never read. I might also look into acquiring a nice, trashy novel in case I need some junk food. I like having a lot to choose from. It’s also recommended by the Read-a-Thon FAQ.)

Well, I better finish these pending reviews so that I don’t have a backlog come Saturday …

9 Comments

  1. Jenny said,

    Aw, Dear Enemy! And Witch Week! I love those books so much – definitely read those ones. In fact I am going to read those ones this evening if I get a chance. Good luck for the readathon!

    • Schatzi said,

      I haven’t read Dear Enemy–I didn’t even know there was a sequel to Daddy-Long-Legs! I can’t wait.

      Witch Week’s an old favorite. It was a birthday present when I was little–since my birthday falls during Witch Week!

  2. Ceri said,

    I’ve always wanted to read Thérèse Raquin. I’m so glad to hear you’re doing this. I won’t be this year but I’m looking forward to reading everyone’s updates including yours now. 😀

    • Schatzi said,

      I am really excited to read it; I loved The Drinking Den and the other Zolas I’ve read!

  3. Ronnica said,

    I was just thinking yesterday how I wanted to re-read The Little House on the Prairie. Good book for the Read-a-thon!

    • Schatzi said,

      I figured it would a reliable standby for when I need refreshing. 🙂

  4. Dana said,

    great list! Good luck on Saturday…I’m getting so excited!

  5. Leslie said,

    I love both of those L’Engle books. I think they would make great Read-a-Thon books. Hope you get them on time!

    • Schatzi said,

      My fiance brought them home from the library this afternoon, and I am stoked!

Leave a Reply

