Read-a-Thon: Book the Firste

October 24, 2009 at 4:31 pm (24-Hour Read-a-Thon)

readathonbuttonI delayed updating a little because I was anxious to finish Meet the Austins, making it my first completed book of the Read-a-Thon! Hurrah! I really enjoyed it, and am looking forward to reading the The Moon by Night, the next in the Austin series. But I will hold off a bit, because I’m not sure whether it’ll be as emotional a read as Meet the Austins was, and well, we can’t have me smearing eyeliner and mascara all over my face at work, now can we!?

I am contemplating switching off between Thérèse Raquin by Emile Zola and The Turn of the Screw by Henry James for a bit.

books:1 (Meet the Austins by Madeline L’Engle)
total pages: 216

28 Comments

  1. alitareads said,

    Congrats on finishing your book! Can you believe we’re past the half way point? It’s gone by so fast! I hope you’re still having fun – enjoy your remaining books, which ever ones you choose 🙂

  2. Nicole said,

    You’re doing a fabulous job! We’re over halfway through it so keep up the good work! Have fun with your reading!

  3. Ronnica said,

    Delaying updating in order to read? That sounds fair! Keep up the reading!

  4. Chris said,

    I hope Turn of the Screw works for you!! I’ve tried Henry James a few times and he’s never worked for me :/

  5. Marg said,

    Reading Henry James for readathon sounds like a daunting task! Good luck with it!

  6. Donna Shepard said,

    Hope your reading is going well 🙂

    Good luck on the rest of the read a thon!

  7. Shelly Burns said,

    Congrats on finishing your 1st book. Hope you are enjoying your reading!

  8. Lauri said,

    I am planning to read “The Turn of the Screw” by Henry James for a different challenge! I didn’t include it in today’s reads, though…

    : )

  9. Chantele said,

    Great job finishing your first book! Happy reading for the rest of the night!;)

  10. Helen said,

    Finishing a book feels so good (and finishing more feels decadent). Enjoy the rest of the day/night!

  11. Laza said,

    Whew that’s some heavy reading! Zola and James! I stick to middle grade and YA!!! 🙂 Happy reading!

  12. Jodie said,

    Hmm The Turn of the Screw is so short it seems ideal and you need something that’s going to stop you from sleeping. Great that you finsihed your first book, congratulations!:)

  13. Cindy said,

    Yay you finished your first book! Congrats!!!!

  14. Patti (Reading Distractions) said,

    Great job finishing your first book. Enjoy your reading! I can’t believe we are half done allready!

  15. Gina said,

    *Cheer*Cheer*

    congrats on finishing the first book and wow that you can read at work!

  16. Esme said,

    Rah Rah-keep on reading-good for you.

  17. Serena said,

    Congrats on completing the first book and here’s to many more.

  18. nomadreader said,

    I keep meaning to read Madeline L’Engle again, especially after reading When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead. Thanks for another reminder, and happy reading!

  19. Katrina (bloodybad) said,

    Way to go, I can’t wait to finish another book!

  20. Laura said,

    I was waffling on reading Turn of the Screw also, but I’ll start it right now, and we can read it together! It’s nice to have something short to keep you motivated. I’m further behind than I’d like to be, but I didn’t have to work like you did! Personally, I’ve always really liked Henry James, though he can be a bit wordy. At least this is a short one!

    Good luck, congratulations on finishing your first book, and happy reading!

  21. JensBookTalk said,

    Doing great! Congrats on finishing your book!

  22. Trish said,

    Let’s go
    Let’s go, chip in, it’s time to cheer,
    It’s simple, yell what you hear,
    Go Reader Go,
    Go Reader Go,
    Fire up and scream,
    Read
    Read Read!

  23. Michelle Miller/the true book addict said,

    Turn of the Screw is a good one…scary! But I’ve always wanted to read Theresa Raquin. Good luck deciding!

  24. Audrey said,

    CONGRATULATIONS on your first completed book! Keep up the good work, and HAPPY READING!!!!

  25. Bookjourney said,

    Keep on going! Your titles sound interesting 🙂

  26. nfmgirl said,

    That’s not a book I’m familiar with. Congratulations on finishing it! I’m currently reading The Hunger Games.

    BTW, one of my five cats is called Schatzi, but I spell her name “Shotsie”.

    Have fun with the Read-a-Thon!

  27. Icedream said,

    Congratulations on finishing Meet the Austins. You are doing some heavy duty reading and I am impressed! The later it gets the more I resort to reading books like Cat In The Hat. 😀

  28. dave said,

    finished “gone” by michael grant and off to start “Hunger” book 2 in his series!
    Dave

Leave a Reply

