Read-a-Thon: Book the Seconde or, On Finishing The Turn of the Screw

October 24, 2009 at 8:03 pm (24-Hour Read-a-Thon)

24hrreading2-thumbThere’s my second book of the Read-a-Thon down, and oh! What a book! Henry James in smaller doses can be just right, and though his prose can take some getting used to, The Turn of the Screw is entirely worth the effort. Such chills! Such dread! It was at times frustrating, however, reading it here at work, for the interruptions were driving me to distraction. James’ prose is such that one needs to keep one’s concentration focused–at least, for me it is.

I also want to take a moment to once again thank all the lovely commentors for their encouragement. I am only sorry that I cannot return the visits to my fellow readers and comment in turn, but my work network blocks such activities. So frustrating!

I have not yet decided on what the third book is to be, but I may go a little lighter before tackling Zola. I am bound and determined to devour Thérèse Raquin tonight, but I will bide my time. For now.

See you all again soon!

Title of book(s) read since last update: The Turn of the Screw by Henry James
Number of books read: 2 (Meet the Austins by Madeline L’Engle, The Turn of the Screw by Henry James)
Pages read since last update: 43
Running total of pages read: 303

7 Comments

  1. mari said,

    You are doing great! And at work, too? Enjoy the rest of the read a thon.

  2. Kiki said,

    Congrats on your reading! I send you warm and happy vibes from the Sunshine State. Good luck with your reading!

  3. Sara said,

    Have you read any other Henry James? I’ve been meaning to read some of his work, but I’m not sure where to start.

  4. Eva said,

    I’m popping by to offer some cheering! Give me an R! Give me an E! Give me an A! Give me a D! What does that spell?! Read! Read! Read!

    COngrats on your second finish!

  5. Kate at Read This Book! said,

    Congrats on finishing your second book! =] YAY!

  6. diane said,

    You are really doing great! Isn’t the time flying by? I am starting to feel exhaustion setting in, but blog-hopping is helping. Keep up the good work.

  7. Laura said,

    I’ve finished Turn of the Screw too! You’re right, it’s creepy and a little frustrating, but still fabulous. Thanks for spurring me on to read it! I hope you’re back at home, no longer at work, and able to read more freely.

    Good luck on finishing the challenge, fellow “Turn”-er!!!!

Leave a Reply

