Booking through Thursday: Blurb

October 29, 2009 at 2:28 pm (Memes) ()

btt2Suggested by Jennysbooks:

Something I’ve been thinking about lately: “What words/phrases in a blurb make a book irresistible? What words/phrases will make you put the book back down immediately?”

Honestly, I don’t pay that much attention to blurbs. I know a lot of them are done as reciprocal favors, and beyond that, the hyperbole is sometimes laughable. I might take a second glance at a book if I should see one by an author I really like and respect, but then again, after the Hell House debacle (“Hell House is the scariest haunted house novel ever written. It looms over the rest the way the mountains loom over the foothills.” –Stephen King), maybe I won’t.

(Blurb is a funny word.)

2 Comments

  1. gautami tripathy said,

    Synopsis is better!

    😀

    Booking through Blurbs

  2. alitareads said,

    hehe…blurb.

    I don’t like reading blurb because, yes, they are often great exaggerations of what the book is actually like. But what gets me is when blurbs give away plot details, or better yet, plot details that aren’t even included in the book!

Leave a Reply

