Booking through Thursday: Too Short?

November 12, 2009 at 12:45 am (Memes) ()

btt2Suggested by JM:

“Life is too short to read bad books.” I’d always heard that, but I still read books through until the end no matter how bad they were because I had this sense of obligation.

That is, until this week when I tried (really tried) to read a book that is utterly boring and unrealistic. I had to stop reading.

Do you read everything all the way through or do you feel life really is too short to read bad books?

I have a hard time not finishing books, even when they suck and are total crap. I finished both The DaVinci Code and Neanderthal, for crying out loud! Sometimes I keep reading because it’s like a trainwreck, and I can’t help myself from seeing how bad it’s gonna get. I also have a perilously short attention span, and would rather be reading even drivel than entertaining myself inside of my head (how DO people do that?). For me, it’s the craving that beaver stew and hoecake could never appease.

Offhand, I can’t think of the last book I put down in disgust and didn’t pick back up.

7 Comments

  1. Novroz said,

    You are the 1st one I have ever met that does something like this 🙂 … good for you 🙂

    Those authors need someone who reads their books….I can’t help those writer 🙂 you are there to help them 🙂

  2. Lisa said,

    lol i know how you feel about trying through a train wreak lol

    Here’s mine

  3. Nise' said,

    I rather move on to the next book! Love that you have a “total crap” catagory.

  4. Alayne said,

    I love that you have a category specifically for “total crap.” I might have to get me one of those. Here’s my answer: http://thecrowdedleaf.wordpress.com/2009/11/12/booking-through-thursday-november-12-2009.

  5. Barbara H. said,

    It’s been years since I laid aside an unfinished book — I do tend to want to give it a chance. But if it were truly “bad” or absolutely boring, I would.

  6. Priscilla said,

    Oh jeez…I also finished The DaVinci Code. Yikes. That was years ago, though, and I have since decided that if a book is really bad, it isn’t worth my time. Nothing makes me angrier than sloppy prose–why should I take the time to read something an author (or, to be fair, an editor) didn’t take the time to perfect?

  7. Marce said,

    I have put 2 aside this year, I won’t do it to myself.

    Here is my response.
    http://teawithmarce.blogspot.com/2009/11/booking-through-thursday-to-short.html#comments

Leave a Reply

