Shelf Discovery Challenge (6/6)

December 3, 2009 at 3:28 am (Challenge Post) ()

I haven’t yet read Lizzie Skurnik’s Shelf Discovery–though I do love the idea–and since there are books in Shelf Discovery that I never read as a young person, I am excited to participate in the Shelf Discovery Challenge, hosted by Julie P of Booking Mama.

SHELF DISCOVERY is a “reading memoir” which features over 70 MG and YA classics with Ms. Skurnick’s unique impressions. There are also essays about these classics written by current women writers including Meg Cabot, Laura Lippman, Cecily von Ziegesar, and Jennifer Weiner.

By participating in this challenge, you can revisit some of your childhood favorites while also having the chance to read some of these classics for the very first time. And even if you’ve read some of these books over and over again as a young girl (like me), I think that by re-reading them now we will appreciate them for entirely different reasons.

Details:
The Shelf Discovery Challenge will run for six months (November 1, 2009 – April 30, 2010). To join me in this challenge, all you need to do is grab a copy of SHELF DISCOVERY and pick out what six books you want to read (of course, you can read more than six!) Then, after you read a book, just write a “book report” to share your thoughts with others!

My Shelf Discovery books:
1. Ghosts I Have Been by Richard Peck
2. The Grounding of Group Six by Julian F. Thompson
3.  A Ring of Endless Light by Madeline L’Engle
4. Jane-Emily by Patricia Clapp
5. Secret Lives by Berthe Amoss
6. To All My Fans, with Love, from Sylvie by Ellen Conford

Bonus reads:
1. The Wolves of Willoughby Chase by Joan Aiken
2. Babyface by Norma Fox Mazer*
2. The Taking of Terri Mueller by Norma Fox Mazer*
3. Missing Pieces by Norma Fox Mazer*
4. Homecoming by Cynthia Voigt
5. How Do You Lose Those Ninth Grade Blues by Barthe DeClements*
6. Nothing’s Fair in Fifth Grade by Barthe DeClements*
7. Voices After Midnight, Richard Peck*
8. Princess Ashley, Richard Peck*
9. Seventeen and In-Between, Barthe DeClements *
10. Love is One of the Choices, Norma Klein*
11. Domestic Arrangements by Norma Klein
12. It’s Not the End of the World by Judy Blume

(*Inspired by Shelf Discovery, but not actually in it.)

5 Comments

  1. Julie P. said,

    Great choices. You picked a few that are more obscure! I can’t wait to hear what you think. Thanks for joining us!

  2. Shelf Discovery: The Teen Classics We Never Stopped Reading « the stacks my destination said,

    […] and occasional analyses with those of Skurnik et alia. I put off reading it till I joined the Shelf Discovery Challenge; I wanted to investigate some of those books I missed out on for whatever reason (and let me tell […]

  3. Ghosts I Have Been « the stacks my destination said,

    […] you may have guessed, Ghosts I Have Been was well worth the read for the Shelf Discovery Reading Challenge. Blossom herself is magnificent: observant, canny, insightful, spunky to the max, and with a […]

  4. The Grounding of Group 6 « the stacks my destination said,

    […] Shelf Discovery Challenge « the stacks my destination said, […]

  5. Babyface « the stacks my destination said,

    […] inspired by my inability to recall Norma Klein’s name while looking for books related to the Shelf Discovery Challenge. How fortunate for […]

Leave a Reply

