It’s Monday! What are you reading? (22 February)

February 22, 2010 at 9:02 pm (Memes) ()

Nothing. Well, that’s not quite true. You see, I ran out of the library books that I WANT to read, and have a bunch more on hold the library that haven’t yet arrived (damn you, Multnomah County Library! *shakes fist*). All I’ve got left now are Margaret Irwin’s The Galliard, a very old-fashioned (and not especially accurate) Mary, Queen of Scots novel, and Cinderella Dreams: The Allure of the Lavish Wedding. So I’ve been supplementing by reading my totally rad (and interesting) American Heritage Cookbook circa 1969. Of course, the problem with that is now I want to make New England Boiled Dinners, chowder, and Anadama bread.

This week, I polished off Joan Aiken’s classic The Wolves of Willoughby Chase (one of my childhood favorites), Valerie Martin’s Property, Anya Seton’s The Hearth and Eagle (another factor in my cravings for New England cuisine), a classic Madeline L’Engle Chronos book, A Ring of Endless Light, and another of my crack books, The Morland Dynasty: The Victory by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles. Not too shabby. I’m still getting back in gear post-wedding, but I do have a lot of catching up to do, here and at Gourmanderie.

This week, look forward to catch up book reports from December, as well as the new year. I’ve given up all thought of posting them in chronological order, but the reading dates will still be posted at the bottom of each book report–and there’s always the master lists to refer to.

1 Comment

  1. janyclaire said,

    Hi there, brand new to your blog so I have yet to peruse all your posts and check out your reviews. Wow! I can’t believe you read all those books in a week. I read “Snowflower and the Secret Fan” last week and felt good about that! I’m an avid reader and especially love the classics. Jane Austen is one of my favs as well as the Bronte sisters. I recently finished “The Many Lives of Josephine B” trilogy by Sandra Gulland those we very, very good!

Leave a Reply

