A Thousand Words: Goodwill Goodies

July 20, 2010 at 12:58 am (Worth a Thousand Words) ()

I love shopping the Goodwill bookshelves, despite the fact that they’re raised their prices to insane levels since I was in high school (when pretty much any book was a dollar). Eli and I like to cruise for interesting old cookbooks, and I like to supplement my library with both classic literature and trashy novels (I am always on the lookout for forgotten YA novels and VC Andrews). This week, though, I had a yen for trashy romance novels. Notable among those that I purchased is Judith McNaught’s Whitney, My Love, which was one of the earliest Regency historicals. Neat-o. (I also hear it’s got some of that old school objectionable material, which should make for interesting reading.) And I haven’t read Shelters of Stone since it first came out, so I am feeling a little Earth’s Children reunion this summer.

I’m especially stoked about The Shy Stegosaurus of Indian Springs by Evelyn Sibley Lampman. She was a massively popular children’s author throughout the Fifties and Sixties who set most of her novels in Oregon and the West and who also wrote intelligently and responsibly about Northwest Indians, even before the Indian resurgence of the late twentieth century. There’s an award named for her! Sadly, pretty much all of her work is out of print, so I was really excited to stumble across this one. One day I’ll tell you about how I picked out the cover for a reprint of her novel Treasure Mountain.

Eli pointed out a copy of The Velveteen Rabbit with the same illustrations as the one he had when he was little, and since they were adorable, I had to snag it, though I have my own hardcover copy. But the star of today’s trip is without a doubt this magnificent comic we found:

Words fail me.

2 Comments

  1. Jenny said,

    I love shopping at Goodwill for books too. Books and jeans skirts. Sadly the Goodwill store in town that had the best selection of books shut down after the hurricanes, and the one that remains is just not the same.

  2. LDP said,

    So awesome. Maybe even cooler than…

Leave a Reply

